Uncategorized

Hobby Lobby

And I’m not referring to the store. Sorry, my beautiful fellow crafters!

image
No crafting??

I’m referring to the fact that I have an over abundance of hobbies and interests. When I try to pick what I’m going to do with my sparsely sparse spare time, it’s like I’m trying to pick a favorite child or something. Impossible! They’re each such uniquely amazing creatures!

It’s like comparing apples and oranges! Except that I hate oranges, so I guess that doesn’t really apply here.

20140626_181406
“Now, that’s just hurtful.”

Recently, I blogged about my journey toward minimalism. Maybe my interests need to be simplified as well!

I mean, how do I have time to homeschool four children, make sure they’re well rounded, keep a (semi) clean house, and do ANYTHING else? Much less EVERYTHING else that I desire to do?

image

I love blogging, sewing, editing, writing songs, writing poetry, writing books, journaling, photography, singing, playing keyboard, playing guitar, gardening, playing Minecraft with the kids, editing photos, editing videos, posting to YouTube, acting, decorating tiered cakes, crafting with the girls, and more!

image
“Oh, my.”

So how do I choose?

image
“Just ride the wave, dude.”

Well… I used to super stress out if I didn’t blog enough, or if I bought a birthday cake instead of baking an amazing one, or if I didn’t get to work on that song that I recorded a snippet of while standing in the grocery store line.

But recently, I’ve decided that it’s okay. It’s just OKAY. It’s okay that I don’t get to everything every day. Or every week. Or even every month.

image

So if you’re like me, take a deep breath. Tell yourself that it’s okay to have well rounded interests and just do what you WANT to do. Free time is too precious and rare to fill with self imposed expectations.

“Man is free at the moment he wishes to be.” -Voltaire

2 thoughts on “Hobby Lobby

  1. Hey Brittany! I’m Dipika from allpoetry.com 🙂 I love your blog and the way you write is very enjoyable ^_^ And you are a talented girl I must say! You do so many things…I wish I could play the guitar or keyboard 😦
    And bravo on managing 4 kids :O
    ps; How do I follow you here on wordpress, I have no idea..I only have a blog on blogspot so help me out? I’d love to follow you and keep in touch! ^_^
    – Dipika

    1. Hi Dipika! Thank you for your kind words! I’m pretty new to WordPress myself, but I believe you can either create a WordPress account and then hit follow when you’re logged in, or follow/comment if you’re logged in to Facebook or Google. It may even prompt you, but I’m not sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

