A Minimalist Me

Minimalism. A New Lease On Life and Living.

Miniminator! Minimizatron! Minimalow…  yeah… I feel like this brand new journey I’m on to a minimalist lifestyle really requires a superhero name!

image
I might have to revisit NYC in order to accomplish my goals.
image
I can think of some other superhero needs I have as well! #bookingaflight

Becoming minimalist is no easy task for me: with 4 children, a 5 bedroom, 3 bath, 3300 sf overfilled home, a very slight tendency toward hoarding, and a creative messy personality, I am no ideal candidate for this choice.

However, I believe it is what I need to do in order to become happier, healthier, and freer! It is what my family needs in order to reduce stress, spend less money on belongings and more on experiences, and have more time to spend actually living in peace and tranquility TOGETHER!

image
Don't worry. Be happy. Eat a snow cone.

What is minimalism exactly? The definition is: a style or technique (as in music, literature, or design) that is characterized by extreme spareness and simplicity.

Very simply, minimalism = simplicity.

I’ve been researching strategies, definitions, and techniques for months now. My favorite quote describing minimalism is from the founder at this website. He states, “The best things in life aren’t things.” True that! His website and Facebook page are my favorite inspiration sources.

Step One for me was going through the years and years of clothing I had laying around this house and bagged up in the garage! Several weeks ago, I rewashed and donated 14 large black garbage bags full of clothing to a local clothes closet. Some of it was baby girl clothing. My youngest girl is almost 7! For shame.

I now have an office full of things that are leaving my house asap! I’m making progress, however slowly… and I look forward to the future, when I will be clutter free in every way. My home, my mind, my finances, and especially my time.

image

This is the only life I have to live. I believe that in order to experience it fully, I must live it minimally.

image

“A cluttered space is a cluttered mind. Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication.” -Leonardo da Vinci

3 thoughts on “Minimalism. A New Lease On Life and Living.

Leave a Reply

